Share Print
Text Size Increase Text Decrease Text

Proviso West Inducts 12 New Members into National Honor Society

April 23, 2015 03:30 PM
The Proviso West High School National Honor Society (NHS) inducted 12 new members at its spring ceremony on April 16 in the Proviso West Little Theater.
To be inducted into the National Honor Society, a student, who is either a current junior or senior, needs to have at least four semesters in which they earn a grade point average of at least 3.0 of a possible 4.0. The students who meet this criterion are then contacted and invited to submit an application in which they answer questions about their leadership skills and community service as well as write an essay on why they believe they should be inducted.
During the ceremony - which was attended by Ms. Readith Ester and Mr. Kevin McDermott, both District 209 Board of Education members - the National Honor Society’s leadership spoke of the main qualities of a member of the society: scholarship, leadership, service, and character. 
"You must be very proud to be included in such an historical and prestigious organization," said Breanna Woolfolk, a Proviso West senior and the chapter president.
Mr. Oscar Hawthorne, principal at Proviso West, said that the inductees inspire him, teachers, and other staff members at Proviso West.
"When I wake up in the morning, it’s a positive to know that you’re contributing to this school," he said. "We thank you for making Proviso West a wonderful place to come to work."
The 12 new members make the total of new members in the Proviso West National Honor Society for the 2014-15 school year 42, including the 30 students who were inducted in November.
The following Proviso West students were inducted into the National Honor Society:
  • Cithlaly Arenas (Senior)
  • Lucy Cisneros (Senior)
  • Jonathan Manfredini (Senior)
  • Syeda Ali (Junior)
  • Mireya Bahena (Junior)
  • Mouhnir Brown (Junior)
  • Salvador Castanon (Junior)
  • Esbaide Garcia (Junior)
  • Akila Howard (Junior)
  • Debra Misters (Junior)
  • Kennedy Reed (Junior)
  • Sarah Scott (Junior)
Congratulations to the new inductees!
For photos of the ceremony, please click here.


Proviso Township High Schools District 209 8601 Roosevelt Road, Forest Park, IL 60130
© 2018 Proviso High School District #209. All Right Reserved|Terms & Conditions|Privacy Policy|Sitemap