Share Print
Text Size Increase Text Decrease Text

Principal Hawthorne and PTHS 209 Board of Education Announce Illinois State Scholars

January 23, 2017 02:00 PM
PTHS 209 is pleased to announce that nine Proviso West students from the graduating class of 2017 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.
According to the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from 765 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank. High school guidance counselors work with ISAC to determine the winners.
The Proviso West students were recognized by the Proviso Township High Schools District 209 Board of Education for their outstanding achievement during January’s Board meeting. Devon Jackson, now an Illinois State Scholar, is thankful for this recognition and plans to attend Hawai'i Pacific University this Fall.  Devon is also excited about the positive changes that she has observed at Proviso West and stated, "The school is making small changes that have been led by the student body who speak out. Some of the things that have improved are our PA system and the placement of recycling bins in our school."  
Diana Guzman, also an Illinois State Scholar, was recognized that evening for being named a Posse Scholar. Posse Scholars receive a full-tuition scholarship from the Posse Foundation. The Posse Foundation, with sites across the country including Chicago, selects public high school students with "extraordinary academic and leadership potential who may be overlooked by traditional college selection processes," according to the group’s website. The Posse Foundation then places its selected students in teams of 10 to continue to "pursue personal and academic excellence," the website said.
Many of the students were accompanied by family and friends who were thankful for the opportunity to attend the student recognition. Diana Guzman’s father stated, "I am proud of my daughter’s accomplishments and for the hard work and dedication she devotes to her studies." Diana stated, "I am grateful to have attended Proviso West and want to give thanks to God and to all the counselors, especially Ms. Foster, for guiding the way for me."  
The following Proviso West High School students were named 2017-18 Illinois State Scholars:
Mahmooda Ali
Andrea Ayala
Patrick Capili
Damien Craddock
Samuel Garcia-Sandoval
Diana Guzman
Devon Jackson
Neyda Juarez
Marco Ornelas
Congratulations to Proviso West ISAC students and best wishes on your educational endeavors!


Proviso Township High Schools District 209 8601 Roosevelt Road, Forest Park, IL 60130
© 2018 Proviso High School District #209. All Right Reserved|Terms & Conditions|Privacy Policy|Sitemap