Share Print
Text Size Increase Text Decrease Text

34 Inducted Into National Honor Society at Proviso East

February 26, 2015 03:25 PM
The Proviso East High School National Honor Society (NHS) inducted 34 new members at its spring ceremony on February 24 at Proviso East High School.

To be inducted into the National Honor Society, a student needs to have at least four semesters in which they earn a grade point average of at least 3.0 of a possible 4.0. The students who meet this criterion are then contacted and invited to submit an application in which they answer questions about their leadership skills and community service as well as write an essay on why they believe they should be inducted.
During the ceremony, which was attended by Dr. Nettie Collins-Hart, superintendent of District 209, and Ms. Readith Ester, a District 209 Board of Education member, the National Honor Society’s leadership spoke of the main qualities of a member of the society: scholarship, leadership, service, and character. Ms. Marcia LaPorte, a Proviso East art teacher and the faculty advisor for the Proviso East National Honor Society chapter, said that the current members and the new members embodied those qualities through programs such as the annual Breakfast with Santa in December and the new community garden.
"Our members are leaders in many organizations," Ms. LaPorte said. "We are proud of this record of accomplishments."
Mr. Tony Valente, principal at Proviso East, said that the new society members were joining one of the "most prestigious academic organizations" in the nation.
"Proviso East High School has a tradition of strong academics, character, leadership, and service to the community," Mr. Valente said. "We congratulate our 34 inductees on their hard work and success, as they embody the ideals and traditions for which we strive for our students."
The following students were inducted on February 24:
  • Asia Ali
  • Evelyn Amigon
  • Jessenia Arredondo
  • Llayaly Bahena
  • Ponciano Barajas
  • Gabino Castro-Reyes
  • Kewan Clemons
  • Luis Cuate
  • Shiondrell Davis
  • Ivan Diaz
  • Tiani Forbes
  • Maria Gallarzo
  • Elena Garcia
  • Yestelin Godinez-Solis
  • Armando Gomez
  • Esperanza Gomez
  • Gisel Gomez
  • Gerald Harris
  • Kameron Irvin
  • Imari Johnson
  • Cesar Juarez
  • Ayanna Kelly
  • Rosamund Lin
  • Khayla Mack
  • Dennise Maurino-Bustos
  • Makaylah McClinton
  • Tamia McCree
  • Jasmine Moore
  • Tempelle Newman
  • Irving Ojeda
  • Jessica Razo
  • Kerolos Sam
  • Maurilio Trejo
  • Ximara Villagomez
Congratulations to the new members of the National Honor Society! 
For more photos from the ceremony, please click here.


Proviso Township High Schools District 209 8601 Roosevelt Road, Forest Park, IL 60130
© 2018 Proviso High School District #209. All Right Reserved|Terms & Conditions|Privacy Policy|Sitemap