Share Print
Text Size Increase Text Decrease Text

37 District 209 Students Named as Illinois State Scholars

January 15, 2016 02:15 PM
Thirty-seven seniors from Proviso East High School, Proviso West High School, and Proviso Mathematics and Science Academy have been named as Illinois State Scholars by the Illinois State Assistance Commission (ISAC).
The 37 students are among nearly 19,000 students from the Class of 2016 to receive the designation, which was first introduced in 1958. According to ISAC, Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors, hailing from 652 different high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school guidance counselors work with ISAC to determine the winners.
The students from District 209 continue a tradition of excellence in receiving the honors for their achievements from outside agencies.
"The students from our schools who have been selected as State Scholars are among the best and brightest," said Dr. Nettie Collins-Hart, superintendent for District 209. "They have worked hard for their achievement and have the opportunity to continue that success after high school."
While this distinguished recognition does not include a monetary prize, recipients are encouraged to cite the honor on applications for college admission and scholarships. In addition, students are urged to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The FAFSA determines eligibility for federal and state aid, including Illinois’ need-based Monetary Award Program (MAP) grant, as well as for many forms of aid offered through colleges, according to ISAC in a news release.
The following students from Proviso East, Proviso West, and PMSA were named as Illinois State Scholars:
Proviso East High School
  • Jose Alba
  • Dalal El Barbarawi
  • Maria Gallarzo
  • Cinia McCray
  • Miguel Ortiz-Jaramillo
Proviso West High School
  • Syeda Ali
  • Danny Belmonte
  • Davon Branch
  • Dennis Bryant
  • Annabel Calderon
  • Verenice Payan
  • Jessica Pop
  • Miles Royal
  • Linda Zaragoza
Proviso Mathematics and Science Academy
  • Charles Calvert
  • Andrea Delgado
  • Jesus Flores
  • Michelle Fulgencio
  • Hannah Galloway
  • Julisa Galvan
  • Lizbeth Garcia
  • Maksim Giljen
  • Alexandra Gomez
  • Kalen Gray
  • Karla Guzman
  • Michael Lemus
  • Angelica Minguez
  • Ashley Mitchell
  • Leslie Mora
  • Andres Munoz
  • Felicia Oduh
  • Vincent Puente
  • Zachary Redis
  • Erick Rodriguez
  • Cristian Roman
  • William Sanchez
  • Cristian Zaragoza
Congratulations to all our state scholars! 


Proviso Township High Schools District 209 8601 Roosevelt Road, Forest Park, IL 60130
© 2018 Proviso High School District #209. All Right Reserved|Terms & Conditions|Privacy Policy|Sitemap