Share Print
Text Size Increase Text Decrease Text

D209 Board of Education Recognized Students, Faculty, and Staff during June Board Meeting

July 3, 2017 08:04 AM
D209 Board of Education
The Proviso Township High Schools Board of Education honored students, faculty, and staff during the regular meeting and special joint meeting between the D209 Board of Education and the Financial Oversight Panel that took place on June 13, 2017 at 6:00 p.m. at Proviso Math and Science Academy.
Theresa L. Kelly, D209 Board of Education President, thanked administrators, staff, support staff, security, custodial, and maintenance for a good school year and for three successful graduations where more than 800 students received their diplomas and their acceptance to more than 100 colleges and universities.  
"Thanks everyone for all you do. The D209 Board of Education promises to continue to work to make our schools better year after year. Although Rome was not build in a day, we will keep working to improve and transform every aspect of PTHS D209 academically and athletically," said Kelly.
The D209 Board of Education recognized high school graduates from all three campuses who have attained a high level of proficiency in both Spanish and English, by designating on a student’s transcript and high school diploma his or her receipt of the State Seal of Biliteracy.
The following students were recognized:
Proviso East:
Armando Gomez
Proviso West:
Diana Guzman
Proviso Math and Science Academy:
Edgardo Barajas
Jasmin De Leon
Jacqueline Ibarra-Garcia
Arely Lara-Hernandez
Fabian Trejo
Yaritza Uribe
Leslie Villareal
The Class of 2017 PMSA research scholars, Proviso East and Proviso West valedictorians and salutatorians were recognized by the D209 Board of Education for their academic excellence. Students received a certificate and plaque signifying their accomplishments.  
The following students will be part of the District 209 Academic Hall of Fame:
Proviso East High School
Valedictorian: Michael Preston
Salutatorian: Rosemund Lin
Proviso West High School
Valedictorian: Andrea Ayala
Salutatorian: Devon Jackson
Salutatorian: Mahmooda Ali
Proviso Mathematics and Science Academy
Research Scholar: Nazia Khan
Research Scholar: LeRayah Neely-Brown
In continuation of celebrating student academic achievements, the Proviso Teachers’ Union presented five students with $1000 scholarships. The number of scholarships awarded to Proviso students was tripled from previous years. The winners included a current Proviso student and a child of a PTU member.
The scholarship recipients are:
Proviso East:
Rosmund Lin
Claire Werner
Justin Blaylock
Kathryn Schuller
Proviso West:
Jayla Sheppard
The D209 Board of Education recognized the Boy’s track team for their excellent performance in this year’s State Track meet held May 26-27. Their hard work earned each of them All-State recognition and medals. This year’s team is our first All-State track team since 2009.
Congratulations to the following students:
Moses Bioash (Proviso East)
John Sylvester (Proviso East)
Deonte Bryant (PMSA)
Emmanuel Valtierrez (PMSA)
David Payne (Proviso East)
Marzel Wells (Proviso East)
In addition to celebrating student achievement, a special recognition was presented to the D209 Technology Department Extraordinary effort of the Technology Department in upgrading network infrastructure and configuring computers in preparation for this year’s summer school session. "Their teamwork and dedication to D209 allowed the first week of summer school to be successful by creating the best possible educational environment for our students," said Ms. Tracy Avant-Bey, Director of Technology at D209.
The IT Team is comprised of the following staff:
H. Michelle Caron            John Cavallone
Luis Correa                      Keith Evans
Robin Hancock                Carol Hayes
Marc Jones                     James Krolik
Jeffrey Leyba                   Kevin McKinnie
Estera Mezera                  Donald Racan
 Adolfo Reyes                  Joe Spagnolo
 Julie Suva                       Mark Twarog
D209 commends everyone for their accomplishments and commitment to excellence. 


Proviso Township High Schools District 209 8601 Roosevelt Road, Forest Park, IL 60130
© 2018 Proviso High School District #209. All Right Reserved|Terms & Conditions|Privacy Policy|Sitemap