Share Print
Text Size Increase Text Decrease Text

Board of Education Honors Top Scholars, Staff, and Community Partners

May 31, 2013 02:55 PM
Forest Park, IL...
The Proviso Township High Schools District 209 Board of Education honored the district’s top students as well as distinguished staff and community partners at the last regular Board meeting of the school year in May.
The board first recognized the achievements of its top scholars. From Proviso East High School, it was valedictorian Brittany Buckner and salutatorian Stephany Galindo. From Proviso West High School, it was valedictorian Chinemerem Katherine Oduh and salutatorian Tania Sosa. The honorees at PMSA were the top research scholars from Proviso Math and Science Academy, Christina Bolek and Erin Belk.

The students were each recognized by their respective school principals and presented with a plaque. In addition, the top scholars are to be inducted into District 209’s Academic Hall of Fame

BOE-052113_(4)"These students have worked hard to achieve in the classroom, and we celebrate that," said Daniel Adams, president of the Board of Education. "Congratulations to our top scholars. We are proud of them, and we know that they will find success wherever they go."

Students, staff, and community partners from PMSA also were recognized at the Board meeting.

John and Glena McDonald were honored as community partners and thanked for their generous donation of a piano to PMSA. Mr. Matthew Brown, a music teacher at PMSA, performed on the piano shortly before the meeting began as a thank you for the support.

"We wish great fortune for the school," Mr. McDonald said.

Carolina Talavera-Romero, a graduating senior, also was recognized for being awarded a $1,000 scholarship from Riverside Bank. In addition, PMSA support staff, Ms. Janet Redmond, Ms. Marchanne Chambers, and Ms. Carol Stelter were honored for their service to the students and staff at PMSA. Also, Mr. William Breisch, assistant principal; Tracy McCormick, wellness department chair; Patricia Howard, social studies department chair; and Mr. John Wardisiani, math and science department chair, were honored for "demonstrating outstanding instructional leadership skills."

In addition, two teams of faculty members were recognized by Dr. Leslie Wilson, interim assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction for the district, for their work on the PTHS Literacy Professional Development efforts and their leadership in curriculum and instruction. Their work included two district-level day-long sessions for each of the five academic departments. Dr. Patrice Reiger, Proviso East reading department chair; Mr. Joseph Kosina, Proviso West English department chair; and Mr. Breisch were honored for their leadership in the efforts. Ms. Kathleen Casey, Ms. Cathy Josephs, and Ms. Chris LoPresti from Proviso East; Ms. Rachael Cramer, Ms. Megan Delaney, and Ms. Shannon Scott from Proviso West; and Ms. Sylvia Foti and Ms. Shoshana Fiola from PMSA were recognized for their leadership of "building-based hour-long Literacy Professional Development."

"The work that was done to help the teachers is to help students improve," Mr. Kosina said. "It’s nice to be noticed for those things. It was nice to be there."

Dr. Nettie Collins-Hart, superintendent of District 209, said that the recognition of the students and teachers displays more of the talent in District 209. She stated that these teachers have boldly come forth and participated in positive ways to move forward improvement in teaching and learning for the district.

"We have always had great teachers and staff and high achieving students in our district," she said. "Those we honor tonight deserve congratulations and continued wishes for success. We need more leadership of this kind


Proviso Township High Schools District 209 8601 Roosevelt Road, Forest Park, IL 60130
© 2018 Proviso High School District #209. All Right Reserved|Terms & Conditions|Privacy Policy|Sitemap