Share Print
Text Size Increase Text Decrease Text

24 PMSA Students Named as Illinois State Scholars

March 2, 2017 03:50 PM
2017 PMSA Illinois State Scholars
© PTHS 209/Cynthia Moreno
PTHS D209 is pleased to announce that twenty-four Proviso Mathematics and Science Academy students from the graduating class of 2017 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.
According to the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from 765 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test score.
On February 15, 2017, the PTHS D209 Board of Education honored the twenty-four PMSA students who were recently named Illinois State Scholars. The PMSA Illinois State Scholars were called to the stage and congratulated by the Board of Education and Dr. Jesse J. Rodriguez, superintendent for District 209.  

Additionally, Dr. Bessie Karvelas, principal at PMSA, and Dr. Rodriguez hosted a breakfast at PMSA for the twenty-four students. During the event, Dr. Rodriguez gave all the students their official Illinois State Scholars certificate, spoke with all the students and commended them on their academic success. 
Dr. Karvelas stated, "I commend these twenty-four seniors for their outstanding commitment to their education. These students have dedicated themselves to their studies and have embraced the rigor of our curricula that is associated with academia. They have excelled and achieved this honor because of their commitment and dedication to their education." 
The following Proviso Mathematics and Science Academy students were named 2017-18 Illinois State Scholars:
Barajas, Edgardo
Blaylock, Justin
Carreno, Steve
Davis, Kevion S
Dumasius, Lukas
Favela, Leslie Guadalupe
Fernando, Arisa Christle
Fitzpatrick, Devon
Gutierrez, Ulyces
Hernandez, Carlos
Ibarra-Garcia, Jacqueline
Khan, Nazia
Magana, Alexa Xitlali
Musial, Kayla
Neely-Brown, LeRayah
Ocampo, Joshua
Pagan, Dakota
Parham, Kayla
Rosa, Lucas Vaughn
Suaste, Cynthia
Trejo, Fabian
Villarreal, Melisa
For photos, please click here.


Proviso Township High Schools District 209 8601 Roosevelt Road, Forest Park, IL 60130
© 2018 Proviso High School District #209. All Right Reserved|Terms & Conditions|Privacy Policy|Sitemap